10 Ways To Customize Builder-grade Bathrooms

17 Jan

 bathroom 40

       Don’t you just love your standard builder-grade bare bones bathroom.?!?..me neither! In fact, my starter home not only had builder-grade everything in the house, but ever worse a lack there of in the bathrooms…. a.k.a no linen closet, no toothpaste cabinet/ wall storage and my master bathroom even had carpeting>>>>> sCaRy, I know!!!!

So, here are a few tips and tricks to take your builder-grade bathroom to the next level.

1. Add some Unique wall storage/cabinets  

bathroom 3

I found this gem above at Hobby Lobby (of course used my 40% off coupon). Bonus: my friends who stop by are welcome to take a sprintz of perfume from my collection =)

bathroom 21

by DIY Playbook

2. DIY Framed Mirror by Saved By Suzy

bathroom 15

3. Make a feature wall

bathroom 16

wall art decal

You can also try some Wall Decals (super easy and not permanet), Stencil action, tile, pallet wood (pictured above by Mandy Jean Chic), or simply paint one wall a different color

4. Change out the cheap builder-grade hooks & fixtures 

bathroom 22

Remove those silver towel holders and racks and replace with some old door knobs or shabby chic diy-er!

by Not Just a Housewife

bathroom 20

by ArtsyVaVa

5) Buy Vanity Fixture Shade Boxes to cover your Hollywood Makeup Counter Light bulbs

bathroom 23

by HGTV Spa Retreat Bathroom

I have seen these vanity  Box Shades at Lowes, but when I went by my home depot they did not carry them =(

6.  Toiletries for your guest! Collect  or buy individual toiletries for your guest and incorporate them into your decor! (don’t forget to leave out a visible extra roll of toilet paper..we all know drip dry is not fun ladies!)

bathroom 27

bathroom 2

7) Add a chandelier (electric or a candle one) If you make it a candle one (much much easier, don’t forget you can buy battery operated LED flickering candles with timers–just got mine from Ross for around $10). You can see from my House Tour, I sort of loove my chandeliers. I have added some to my bathroom, guest room and deck (all candle of course because they are soo easy =)

bathroom 30

by Aiken House & Garden

8) Jazz up the window with a wrought iron piece, diy shutters or even some simple curtains

bathroom 1

I got this piece 50% off at Kirkland’s. I got sick of it hanging in my entry hallway and it just so happened to be a perfect fit in my bathroom window! Prior to my entryway, it served as a head board in college>> great purchase =)

by funky junk interiors

9) Get creative when you don’t have a linen closet

bathroom 31

by 11 Magnolia Lane (hello re-purposed wine rack!)

bathroom 6

^^ currently my situation

utilize every SQUARE inch of your bathroom!

10. Paint your bathroom cabinets!

bathroom 32

by My Uncommon Slice of Suburbia

bathroom 34

by: Primitive & Proper

I hope you find these tips helpful &  easy. I have already utilized quite a bit of them myself and hope to make all of them happen in the near future! Do you have any additional tips on how to upgrade the standard builder-grade bathroom?

Happy Home Improving!!

Kelley B =)

 

Leave a comment