Image

D.I.Y. Damask Wall

21 Jan

bathroom 45

When I first bought my home, the previous owners had not done much with it….

old bathroom 3

The worst part about the boring, blinding white bathroom was the only thing that wasn’t white (minus the picture I hung up), the tanish-brown Berber carpet–not cool.  I knew when I bought the house that this room was going to need an overhaul and it all began with my inspirational piece, the candle chandelier (candle because apparently it’s a fire hazard and against housing codes to have an electrical fixture over your bath tub=)–smart thinking. I have always loved the idea of a chandelier over a tub because of the romantic,  shabby chic quality  it adds to a bathroom. Then, when I decided that I wanted a shabby chic bathroom, a  damask statement wall was definitely a MUST!

damask stencil

Supplies:

-blue painters tape (just a small amount to hold stencil in place)

damask stencil of choice (the stencil above is not the exact one I used, I borrowed my stencil from my mom who did her entire living room)– I have also been wanting to put up some birch wood tree decals in my guest bathroom.. I’ll get back you on how that goes

-paint color of choice (I used one of my FAVORITE Sherwin William colors, Latte with a mocha colored background).

-tape measure

-level

-stencil paint brush

stencilbrush

or

stencil  brush

(I used the foam one)

-ladder

-paper towel (to wipe of excess paint on the stencil itself from previous use)

Directions:

-measure the wall and find the center (I started in the center at the bottom of the tub)

damask 2

-tape the stencil flat against the wall and check with the level to make sure its not crooked–don’t get lazy on this part!

-dip your stencil brush in paint color of choice (dab the excess off) and while holding the stencil flush against the wall, dab paint directly onto the stencil filling in the entire thing while holding your brush WITHOUT any angle

see…NO angle, but the paper plate would be the stencil taped to the wall here =) no angle

and Ta Da!!! 1 stencil complete. Now you MUST wipe off excess paint with a paper towel before repeating the process until you fill the wall.  I put one inch in between each of my stencils allowing for 5 of them to equally fit width wise across the wall. Unfortunately I had an odd shaped wall, so as you can see in the picture above, the top row of my damask stencils are in half.

Please let me know if you have any questions of comments! I love hearing from you =)

Kelley =)

2 Responses to “D.I.Y. Damask Wall”

  1. C.R.A.F.T. January 25, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    Pretty! (and I’ve seen it in person! You should link up to link parties. I co-host one on Monday’s. It’s a good way to get featured by other bloggers. Monday Funday starts at 7p on Sunday night! Link up early. Here’s what I mean: http://www.creatingreallyawesomefreethings.com/monday-funday-2/

    • pinvestigation January 25, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      I thought I did in your last funday Monday linky party…at least I tried. Do you not see the diy damask wall on your last linky party? I need some blogging tips apparently

Leave a Reply

