Image

Baked Cod & Veggies

5 Jan

cod 5

Baked cod and veggies was a Pinvestigation success tonight! The hubs and I licked our plates clean and the best part, it’s a healthy dish. I found the recipe  from eatwell101 =)

 Ingredients for 2

-2 cod fillets or I bought 1/2 pound of fresh cod from the fish market

-1 medium sized zucchini

-1 large carrot

-1 orange

-herbs (fresh or dry) mint, parsley (or whatever your feeling [cumin, paprika, curry ect], but I used fresh mint from my plant and dried parsley)

-salt, pepper or garlic pepper

-olive oil

-aluminum foil or parchment paper

-1/2 cup of dry jasmine rice (if you desire to eat rice with the fish

PREP>>>

First, preheat oven to 400F

1. Cut two large pieces of foil or parchment paper and shape into a squared bowl (just enough to prevent liquid from leaking out) . Next, using a vegetable peeler, cut the carrot into ribbon-like strips. Cut the zucchini into thin to medium strips and divide the veggies equally into each sheet of foil (soon to be packet to bake). Slice four thin circular orange pieces, set aside and then cut two orange wedges with the remainder of the fruit

2. Place foil into baking dish/pan. Drizzle some olive oil over veggies and season with parsley, mint, salt and pepper to taste. Place one cod fillet onto each foil packet and lightly top of fish with salt and pepper again.

3. The original recipe from eatwell101 instructed me to cook my cod for 20 minutes, however my cod was not fully cooked through until around 40-45minutes. Obviously cook time depends on the thickness of the filet, so check the fish at 20 minutes and periodically if you need to cook further. NOTE:  If you want jasmine rice with your fish and veggies, this is the time to start cooking it per your package directions. I used HEB brand Jasmine Thailand rice (imported) and placed in my rice cooker ( if you don’t have a rice cooker and eat rice often, you should definitely invest in one because it cooks the rice perfectly every time). I cooked 1/2 cup or jasmine rice with 3/4 cup of water and my rice cooker takes about 20 minutes. I was trying to time it to where my rice would be cooked when the fish was done, but my fish ended up taking much longer than expected

4.  Make a bed of jasmine rice on your plate, pour the juice from the foil packet onto rice and slide remainder onto bed of rice (be careful not to burn yourself, those foil packets are toasty!)

5. Consume & Savor =)

The other nice thing about this recipe is you can make the foil packets earlier in the day or the night before, keep refrigerated and then just pop them in the over when your getting hungry or it is din din time!

Let me know your thoughts and if you try any other spices with the cod! This is my first time making the recipe, but I’m sure you could really spice things up and get creative with the different veggies or even citrus fruit!

Happy cooking,

Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

