The frozen Mojito, it was mint to be!

27 Sep

mojito

Happy Saturday Everybody!

Could you use a drink after your long work week and want to try something new?!?I know the hubster and I  sure did!

I recently bought a mint plant as one of those last minute sitting out in front of the grocery store buys and have yet to kill it=)  After surviving a few weeks at casa de Bouchard with  little  no attention, I decided I should utilize the goodies of my new favorite find in hopes that it will inspire/remind me to keep this one alive (I have a great track record with people [let’s hope so right since I’m a nurse=)], but my history with plants is rather sub par =/.. I have learned to buy things that basically require no attention. Thus far that would include: Vinca’s, Oleanders, most succulents, ice plant & now mint!

Anywho, the first thing that came to mind with my mint was my favorite drink from Thailand, the frozen mojito. Now I must admit, the picture above is my actual  mojito from Thailand which sadly I did not get their original recipe (i knoooow… what the flip was I thinking?!?) However, the husband googled our good friend Bobby Flay and he had just the recipe to hit the spot =)

Ingredients
1/4 cup simple syrup (equal parts sugar and water boiled together until sugar melts)
2 limes, juiced
12 fresh mint leaves, plus mint sprigs for garnish
4 ounces white rum
2 cups crushed ice

Directions
Combine simple syrup, lime juice and mint leaves in a blender and blend until combined. Add the rum and crushed ice and blend until frothy. Pour into 2 rocks glasses and garnish with mint sprigs.

Compliments of Bobby!

Another yummy mint recipe you ought to try is Mint Salmon!

So, let me know what you think!! Do you have any fun favorite adult beverages to share with me?!?–

Also, I can’t figure out how to get bobby’s frozen mojitos as pretty green as my Thai version. Considering we were on a secluded beach in Thailand, I doubt they added food coloring but if you figure this out, please let me know and post a pic =)

K.B

 

Leave a Reply

