Guest Bedroom Makeover: design on a dime!

16 Sep

collage 1


Hey There,

I’m excited to share my long over due guest bedroom makeover, especially since it cost me less than $250.! How is this even possible you might ask?!?  Well, I reused, re-purposed & made some savvy shopping choices… specifically  @ Craigslist, Ross & Walmart.

guest bedroom

(previous situation)

For starters, I reused the left over green paint from my master bedroom to create a colored feature wall in the guest bedroom. That headboard which is actually an old plantation shutter screen was given to me by my aunt, but any type of room/screen divider could work as a nice headboard

Then, I busted out my old master bedroom queen size quilt that I was no longer using since I upgraded to a king size bed. I believe my mom originally found that at a garage sale of some sort.

Next, I recycled the old foot-board from my queen size bed and turned it on its side. From there I added a cheap door hanging mirror from Walmart and some cute key hooks from Ross. I attached the mirror with velcro and nailed in the key hooks=)

Oh and the rug  that you see… it is a 5×7 bargain find from Ross that I purchased for $49.99=)

1

z1

z2

The towels = Walmart’s Better Homes brand !

Next, one of my  favorite finds is this  shabby chic dresser that came from the one and only Craigslist for $95

008

If you are wondering about the fun accessories a top of the dresser… yep, they are  all from Ross. The little bird went for a mere $5.99, candles sticks $ 8 – $12, the picture frame $8.99 and the blue mirrored tray was $19.99. I also paid homage to one of my favorite tv shows, Breaking Bad, to help create a fun Wifi password for gues. I made the wifi art on picmonkey.com!

020

Have you ever noticed I have a thing for chandeliers? Well, I moved the one from above my tub to top off this shabby chic look. I also painted this old wicker chair that use to be in my sister’s room way back in the day the same color as my feature wall.

5

Last but not least, final touches to the room included fun pillows from Ross that ranged from $6.99-$8.99

2

…and a d.i.y “be our guest” banner made from scrap book paper and washi tape =)

1

So what do you think? Any plans for your guest bedroom? Any savvy saving guest bedroom decor tricks you can share with us?

Happy decorating =)

Kelley B.

Leave a Reply

