10 Ways in 10 Days Happier Home Challenge!

15 Sep

home spa

10 WAYS TO BE HAPPIER IN YOUR HOME

So I originally saw this post on pininterest that originated from Apartment Therapy on 10 ways to be happier in your home. I thought it had some sound insight so I re-pinned it and hoped I would get on it sometime in the near future (oh how we all re-pin  a million things on pininterest and never get around to doing them). However, my friend (thanks Maureen!) suggested I pinvestigate this list and see how it well it really works out for me… I decided it couldn’t hurt and chose to comply with the list for 10 days (yes even making my bed) because we can all do anything for 10 days right?!?!? Below is what the list consist:

1. Make your bed every day

The book The Happiness Project, explains that this three minute task is one of the simplest habits you can adopt to positively impact your happiness.

2. Bring every room back to “ready.”

It’s a known fact: clutter causes stress; order creates a haven from it. This mood-boosting routine is simple: Take about three minutes to bring each room back to “ready” before you depart it.

3. Display sentimental items around your home

Pictures, books and sentiments that remind us of a good experience bring happiness through the cycle of enjoyment

4. Start a one-line-a-day gratitude journal.

Reflection is an important part of happiness, be thankful every day and not just Thanksgiving!

5. If you can’t get out of it, get into it.

If you have to do something and can’t get out of it (like daily dishes) train yourself to like it. Jam out to up-beat songs while doing the necessities of life (even changing the name of  house-work or chores to something like house activities..doesn’t sound so much like work) just makes me feel better… in the nursing world we like to call these things activities of daily living [ADLs]

6. Before you get up each morning, set an intent for the day

In The Art of Happiness, the Dali Lama says “”Every day, think as you wake up: today I am fortunate to be alive, I have a precious human life, I am not going to waste it.” Oh that Dali was so wise!

7. Do small favors for your housemates, expecting nothing in return (not even a thank you!).

The ability to create a strong, healthy relationship is one of the biggest contributors to health and happiness!

8. Call at least one friend or family member a day.

Humans are social beings and socializing makes us feel better!

9.   Spend money on things that cultivate experiences at home.

Spend money on things that will cultivate a fun experience, like board games (game night), an outdoor grill (par-tay), or DVD (movie night)

10. Spend a few minutes each day connecting with something greater than yourself or part of something big

Whatever your spiritual beliefs, take some time each day to step back and realize you are a part of an enormous universe in which we cannot control. Stepping back can put some of those petty annoyances into perspective. Try meditating, praying, a candle lit bubble bath, nature walk or write in a journal

printer friendly version to hang-up as a handy reminder:

10 WAYS TO BE HAPPIER IN YOUR HOME

(I recommend posting this list up somewhere you can see it everyday to help you stick to it. My list is still taped to my bathroom mirror)

MY THOUGHTS AFTER MY PERSONAL 10 WAYS IN 10 DAYS HAPPIER HOME CHALLENGE

Day 1: Started the day off with some coffee, began putting together my house activities (not chores =)  playlist on Spotify and got to jamming while I made my bed. I wrote in my one-liner journal, offered the BF to bring  him up lunch to work (he declined, but its the thought that counts right), quickly cleaned/ de-cluttered all the rooms then I went to the gym. I called a few friends to catch-up and then went o my faaaavorite store to work on #10 on the list which I will be posting about later. Item # 3 is already happening in my home because I am a picture-taking scrap-booking fool and have tons of stuff around the house to reminisce on some good times I have had. #9 I already have covered as well as you can probably see in my house tour. I turned my dining room in to a game room with a ping pong table, I love my outside dining area with grill and the bf and I do our best not to Netflix cheat on each other so we can watch our favorites shows together (currently on is Breaking Bad & Copper)

Day 2: successful! still working on  my playlist to start “enjoying” #5

 –Good Feeling–Flo Rida–trust me on this one, sing out loud to this song and it instantly puts you in a better mood =)

–Paradise — Coldplay ( I personally just love Coldplay =)

 –Kiss Me In The Dark– Randy Rogers Band

 –Pocket Full of Sunshine– Natash Bedingfield

–Groove Is In Your Heart–Dee Lite

 –Let’s Go– Matt and Kim

–Arash–Arash (this one will probably only be awesome for me as it reminds me of my Persian Pool Dance Parties with one of my best

                               friends, Lua, when I was recovering from back surgery =)

–Titanium Acoustic Cover– Collin Mcloughlin

–Yellow– Coldplay

 –Dog Days Are Over– Florence + Machine

 –Happy– Robert DeLong

 –Here Comes The Sun– Beatles

Day 3:  So I looove coming home to my bed being made and every room being tidy. Is it upping the happiness, fo sho!

Day 4: Did I mention keeping a one-liner daily journal is not as difficult as I thought.

Day 5 & 6: I went home to go visit my momma and I left my house nice and clean to come home too

Day 7: The fun playlist is really helping me stick to this challenge. Did I mention, to help stick to # 10 I created my own Spa Bath Bar….LOOOVE IT and will be posting on this soon =)

Day 8: enjoying my last day of summer before grad school starts back up again and so thankful to have absolutely nothing to do today. My one intent for today, get my workout in =)

Day 9: School starts and I am so very thankful my profs have been accommodating with some schedule issues!

Day 10:  I am pumped because our theater tickets for the Book of Mormon just came in today and I’m excited

about the weekend festivities! ps. If you have not seen this, it was pretty hilarious =)

After the 10 days in 10 way challenge, it is quite apparent to me that sticking to this list helps with my productivity, keeping a positive attitude, organization, feeling thankful for what you have (thanks one-liner journal) and overall enjoyment of life. I would definitely recommend the challenge! I am still trying to stick to it and although I have fallen off the wagon a few time (usually when it comes to having to my necessary  house activities, when I throw on the jams its all good).

 Reference:

Ashton, J. (2012). 10 simple things to make you happier at home. Retrieved from

Apartment Therapy website: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/10-things-that-will-make-you-happier-at-home-174151

 

 

Leave a Reply

