Image

Quizlet: a creative, mobile study stool for Students and Teachers!

21 Aug



For all of you who aren’t already aware of this, I am a chronic student. I like to collect degrees because I am fortunate  enough that others (thanks mom, dad and grand-parents) have given me the gift of free education =) and I am currently working on obtaining my masters degree to be a family nurse practitioner (FNP). One study tool that I recently discovered, (THANKS aunt Tracy!!) which is quite convenient and effective is Quizlet.

So what exactly is Quizlet?

Quizlet is a free website that provides learning tools for students (and teachers), including flashcards, study and game modes. It was created by high school sophomore in 2005 and now contains over 400 million study sets. All of the material is user-generated. You can study other user generated material or create your own!

Why do I like it?

I like quizlet because it has a FREE mobile application where I can get a quick study sesh in anywhere I have my phone such as  work, before I got to bed, dog park, the stair-master… ect. I create my own “study set” on the computer and then sync it up with my phone.  If you have a struggling student on you hands, home-school or teach, this application is a great tool to make learning easy, convenient and dare I  say fun with the games?!?! Maybe not fun exactly, but perhaps engaging and much more entertaining than the old book and high-lighter routine.  The quizlet application will also read out loud the study material which is PERFECT for anyone with a learning disability or the over-achieving kindergartner with minimal reading skills.

Also, if you just like to learn and are interested in a certain topic, you can search the Quizlet data base of other user-generated material to study!

Let me know what you think! Do you know of any other applications that aid in studying? I still have 2 more years to go so I am open to any suggestions =)

Kelley S.

Leave a Reply

